Colour head shot of Katy Gallagher, current Minister for Finance.

Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher

Minister for Finance

Appointments to progress national rail and aviation projects


Minister for Finance
Minister for Women
Minister for the Public Service
Senator for the ACT

Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government


The Australian Government is making a number of appointments to the bodies responsible for nationally significant rail projects and the Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport.

These appointments are:

  • Mr Nick Miller – Chief Executive Officer of Inland Rail Pty Ltd (IRPL)
  • Mr Wayne Johnson – Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC)
  • Mr Timothy Eddy, Ms Donna-Maree Vinci and Mr Ken Kanofski – Non-Executive Directors of WSA Co Limited (WSA)

The Australian Government is appointing Mr Miller as CEO of IRPL. IRPL is a wholly owned subsidiary of ARTC and is building the nationally significant Inland Rail project. Mr Miller is a well-recognised and respected leader within the Australian and New Zealand infrastructure and construction industry. He brings a strong mix of governance, executive management, industry capability and construction experience to the role as the former Managing Director and CEO of Adbri Limited and Managing Director of Fulton Hogan.

Mr Johnson will take on the roles of CEO and Managing Director of the ARTC to lead the operation of ARTC’s rail network. He brings significant experience to both roles with a mix of governance, business operations and management experience as Interim CEO of ARTC and former Group Executive of ARTC’s Hunter Valley Network.

These appointments address recommendations of Dr Kerry Schott AO’s report, The Delivery of Inland Rail: an Independent Review, which the Australian Government continues to implement.

The appointments of Mr Eddy, Ms Vinci and Mr Kanofski to the WSA Board will complement and enhance the broad range of the Board’s expertise and skills required to deliver Australia’s newest airport, which is on track to start operations by late 2026.

Mr Eddy first joined the WSA Board in 2017. He is a former Managing Partner at EY and brings significant experience in driving operational and strategic change. Ms Vinci has extensive experience providing financial, strategic, and technological support to boards and services institutions. In her executive career, Ms Vinci was an operations, digital services and risk management leader in the banking sector. Mr Kanofski is an experienced public sector executive and company director with an extensive background in the infrastructure sector. Mr Kanofski was formerly the Chief Executive of NSW Roads and Maritime Services and has significant experience providing strategic leadership to state and federal governments on infrastructure projects.

Quotes attributable to Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government Minister Catherine King: 

“The Australian Government is committed to building strong leadership across the infrastructure sector and I’m confident these leadership appointments will enhance capability and efficiency right across the board.

“Mr Johnson and Mr Miller’s expertise will be invaluable in guiding ARTC and IRPL through the coming years, while the appointments of WSA Board Directors Mr Eddy, Ms Vinci and Mr Kanofski are a great investment into the Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport and the region’s growing aviation needs.”

Quotes attributable to Finance Minister Katy Gallagher:

“The appointments of a new ARTC CEO and Managing Director and Inland Rail CEO brings us a wealth of experience and leadership that will help guide the future development of ARTC’s rail network and the delivery of the Inland Rail project.

“I look forward to seeing the delivery of the Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport continue with the appointment of new and experienced directors.”

Media Contact(s)

Minister King  – Lyndal Curtis 0497 847 212
Minister Gallagher – Lisa Glenday 0403 931 209