Colour head shot of Katy Gallagher, current Minister for Finance.

Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher

Minister for Finance

New appointments to Australia Post Board


Minister for Finance
Minister for Women
Minister for the Public Service
Senator for the ACT

Minister for Communications


The Albanese Government has appointed Mr John Stephen Mann as a non-executive Director and Deputy Chairperson and Ms Debra Anne Hazelton as a non-executive Director to the Australia Post Board for three-year terms.

Mr Mann is a non-executive Director and the Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee at Qube Holdings Ltd. He has held senior leadership roles in the freight, finance and infrastructure industries with a strong focus on logistics skills and brings deep business, financial management, transformation and customer service experience to the role.

Ms Hazelton currently serves as the Chair of the Board at both AMP Limited and its subsidiary AMP Bank Limited, and as a non-executive Director at both Treasury Corporation of Victoria and PERSOL Holdings Co Ltd (Tokyo Stock Exchange).

Ms Hazelton’s senior executive roles in treasury, banking, risk management and corporate culture transformation at Mizuho Financial Group Inc and Commonwealth Bank will be an asset in guiding Australia Post through its critical task of achieving financial sustainability over the coming years.

The two appointments will uplift the current Board’s skillset to support the ongoing focus on modernisation.

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Finance, Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher:

“Appointing Mr Mann and Ms Hazelton to the Board with their skills and experience in transformation and fiscal sustainability ensures one of Australia’s most important national institutions remains in capable hands for the future.”

“Hundreds of thousands of Australians rely on Australia Post services every day and we are committed to making sure it keeps delivering for consumers.”

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Communications, the Hon Michelle Rowland MP:

“I congratulate Mr Mann and Ms Hazelton on their appointments to the Australia Post Board and wish them well in their new roles.

“Mr Mann and Ms Hazelton will bring a wealth of experience in business, financial management and strategic operations to the organisation, particularly as Australia Post continues on its modernisation journey.

“Our Government is committed to ensuring that Australia Post remains as a beloved and publicly-owned institution that is capable of delivering the services Australians need". 

Media Contact(s)

Lisa Glenday (GALLAGHER)
M: 0403 931 209
Adam Boidin (ROWLAND)
M: 0406 009 019 E: